About Silversmiths Garrard & Co


garrard silversmiths

 

The company that was to become Garrard was founded by George Wickes , who lived 1698–1761. He entered his mark in the Goldsmiths' Hall in 1722. He had set up business in Threadneedle Street in London in 1722; the company moved to Panton Street off Haymarket in London in 1735 as a goldsmith and provider of jewellery and other luxury items to aristocratic patrons.

He was a very accomplished silversmith well known for his work in the rococo style, and gained the patronage of the then Prince of Wales. His two apprentices of John Parker and Edward Wakelin, purchased the company following Wickes’ retirement in 1760, replaced by John Wakelin and William Taylor in 1776. After the death of William Taylor, Robert Garrard became a partner in the company in 1792.

He took sole control of the firm in 1802, with his sons Robert Garrard II, James and Sebastian who succeeded him, trading as R., J., & S. Garrard or Robert Garrard & Brothers until James’ retirement in 1835, when the company became R & S Garrard. R & S Garrard remained in the hands of the family until the death of Sebastian, great-grandson of Robert Garrard senior, in 1946.

The brand name of Garrard & Company Ltd was registered in 1909. The company moved to new premises in 1911 to Albemarle Street in London.

Queen Victoria appointed Garrard to the position of Crown Jewellers, leading to the production of numerous pieces of silverware and jewellery for the Royal Family, as well as the upkeep of the Crown Jewels In 1843.

You can find out more on the history behind this iconic silversmith in our bespoke fact packs that come with every order - shop Garrard & Co here.